Free Pattern: Knit Fisherman Ribbed Hipster Hat

In the colder months here in this soggy city, I like to revitalize my relationships with all the hookers I know. And the cast-aways. And bad puns. 😉 In all seriousness, though, I do have a soft spot for DIY knits and crochet.

One hat and pattern that I absolutely love to give to friends and family comes from a fellow blogger, AMAZING craftswoman and world traveler. Her blog is chock full of amazing patterns, and I hope that you’ll peruse them all when you stop by.

This one, however, is my favorite. It works up so easy, and looks gorgeous on! Grab the thickest gauge yarn you’ve got and have at it; you’ll find a link to the rest of this pattern below.  Be sure to check out all of this lovely lady’s patterns (particularly her cloches and baby hats!) at Classy Crochet, linked below!

Free Pattern: Knit Fisherman Ribbed Hipster Hat

Classy Crochet

One day (like, back in December-when-it-was-still-cold one day), as I was trawling across Pinterest like I do, I came across this pin:

The caption of the pin read: “DIY Incredible Knitted Mustard Hat – Super Easy and Awesome”.  Ooh!  I thought.  Super easy awesome free knitted hat pattern!  So I clicked it.  The link took me here: a fashion design blog written in French, with beautiful designs, gorgeous handmade products for sale, and nary a knitting pattern in sight.

So, being the masochist that I am, I decided to figure out the pattern by myself.  It couldn’t be that hard, right?  Just some sort of rib with a wide wale, and a huge pompom on top?

As my not-so-subtle leading question would imply, with any pattern I attempt to replicate, the project took me many, many, many evenings of researching knitted rib patterns, figuring out how they work in…

View original post 904 more words

3 thoughts on “Free Pattern: Knit Fisherman Ribbed Hipster Hat

    • You know, I had a lot of trouble with this too! I think this is the video I used to help me. Let me know if this works for you. I’ve made a gazillion of these hats since then, so if worse comes to worse maybe I’ll try to make my own video.

      Cheers!

      Mariah

Leave a Reply

